Pollen Invasion

Posted: March 28, 2007 in Nature

The pollen count estimates the total pollen concentration in the atmosphere over a period of 24 hours. Pollen levels of 0-30 per cubic meter are considered low and a count of 120+ is high. The count in the city today was a 5499! I was surprised that the visibility had reduced considerably and I felt as if I was driving in a yellow haze. The road looked sick. It seemed ‘jaundiced’ by the pollen infection. The reports informed that oak, sweet-gum, sycamore, birch, mulberry and beech were the miscreants for the sky-rocketing levels of pollen. Every time, I left my desk to go out, I felt dusty. My nose tingled. I felt smothered by the yellow blanket, my eyes burnt and my head was heavy. Never had I imagined or experienced a phenomenon such as this before. Below is a picture of a trash can by the road side at Emory, covered with pollen.

pollen.jpg

Leave a Reply

